I killed my shadow

 

i killed my shadow

I killed my shadow
On a silent afternoon infused with a copper hue
I refused to surrender

With arms stretched under the scorching sun
I let in waves of heat inside my being
Until they reached down my soul

My shadow was no more…

Then night came playing its Cimmerian tune
Darkness stretching its arms everywhere
Like lovers reigning in their blissful content

But I saw the path every night
As I walked through the valley of shadow and death
That black I killed led me

Now the Dark of me brimmed with light
My shadow shimmered like gold
And showed me the way

I refused to surrender….

12 comments

  1. Wow!! Great music video!! However when it comes to the song, I prefer the original Simon & Garfunkel version. It’s such a beautiful rendition!!! However I wish you hadn’t posted the video along with your poem. For you had written such a beautiful dark piece of poetry. But after reading it, once I watched the video, the effect that poem had on me changed, instead leaving my mind focusing on the video.
    Maybe I ought to commented before checking out the clip.
    Anyway, glad to have you back in the blogging world, after quite a hiatus!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Knock it out of the park... say it all !!!

