Now

Now

Sometimes yes it’s hard to carry hope
For it’s not easy to steady the ship
The waves of life are a F5 storm
And the anchor of faith is lost somewhere
So I try to set the course in line
Manipulating
Twisting
Turning the truth
Feeding it all day so it sets the sails straight
And the course of life is back to normal
But then one day someone asked me
Tell me what to do as I am in great winds
The waters are getting deep and fear is creeping in
And I so wanted to help
But I ran
I ran as far as my legs could carry me
For my own anchors were no more than a lie
And then I remembered that
I wish often to change the world
But how can I be of any help
If I am not even true to myself
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
So I closed my eyes and told my heart
No more illusions no more lies
I will keep my ship away from the rocks
Because from now on
I am the one who knocks

19 comments

  1. “I wish often to change the world
    But how can I be of any help
    If I am not even true to myself.”

    No truer words were ever spoken (y)

    By the way, kudos on the awesome Breaking Bad reference πŸ˜€ It fits perfectly well with the context πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank’s Abeeha πŸ˜€ wrote this when the last season of Breaking Bad ended, as we Tv-series junkies learn a lot about life and how to proceed through it from the things we watch so it was the time i did a lot of self thinking and started implying WWWWD strategy in my life and guess what the day you come out of your shell and start facing the world head on, that’s the day everything becomes easy and clear to you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha I myself have applied the WWWWD strategy many times in my life, and everything really has started to make a lot more sense since then. We all have a Heisenberg within us πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ‘how can I be of any help
    If I am not even true to myself’ This realization takes people years to get, It’s not an easy task after all. I like how in the end your words took a turn on the more optimistic side. I hope you manage to find that true anchor and your ship sails ever smoothly πŸ™‚
    Beautifully expressed piece as always Akhiz ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Zee ❀ , wrote this almost a year ago when i was doing a lot of soul searching, but as per the last stanza im a changed person now, more strong, more determined, by the grace of God πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Hello…!! So glad to see your post..sorry was a bit occupied these days so couldn’t stay connected..Hope you are doing fine…This is really inspiring dear..Thanks for sharing it!! And yes my favorite line is “For my own anchors were no more than a lie”…Because we are rarely true to ourselves we live a lie and think its the truth but its just a mask when revealed will just hurt us at the end…:(

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! This hit home, hard.
    My favorite part is what everyone else “But how can I be of any help
    If I am not even true to myself.”
    We NEED to realize this, unless and until you’re true to yourself nothing is going to change. Its all inside you, if you try to decieve yourself, the world deceives you. Stay true yourself and then, only then could you change the world.
    Also I LOVE the optimism at the end. I don’t why or how, but reading words on hope and optimism fills my heart with joy.
    Great work Akhiz. Hope everything’s well at your end. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for liking it, yes everything is good by the grace of God πŸ™‚ truth sets us free and makes life a lot easier, hope and optimism are the motivating factors that keep us going, keep visiting πŸ™‚

      Like

Knock it out of the park... say it all !!!

