Mujhe Baar Baar – (Don’t Call me to yourself Again and Again)

Mujhe Baar Baar

nah hai ibtida mere ‘ishq ki
Neither does my love have a beginning

nah hai intiha mere ‘ishq ki
Nor does my love have an end

nah hai ibtida mere ‘ishq ki
Neither does my love have a beginning

nah hai intiha mere ‘ishq ki
Nor does my love have an end

mera ‘ishq hi hai mera khuda
My love alone is my God

mujhe aur koyi khuda nah de
Don’t give me any other

mujhe baar baar sada nah de
Don’t call me to yourself again and again

meri hasraton ko hawa nah de
Don’t inflame my hopeless longings

mere dil men aatish-i ‘ishq hai
In my heart, there is the blaze of love

meri aag tujh ko jala nah de
May this fire not burn you

main gada naheen hoon faqeer hoon
I am not a beggar, I am an ascetic

main qalandaron  ka ameer hoon 
I am the chief of the qalandars (1)

mujhe tujh se kuchh naheen chaahiye
I desire nothing from you

mujhe maangne ki ada nah de
Don’t let me become someone who begs

mujhe baar baar sada nah de
Don’t call me to yourself again and again

meri hasraton ko hawa nah de
Don’t inflame my hopeless longings

mere dil men aatish-i ‘ishq hai
In my heart, there is the blaze of love

meri aag tujh ko jala nah de
May this fire not burn you

main gada naheen hoon faqeer hoon
I am not a beggar, I am an ascetic

main qalandaron ka ameer hoon
I am the chief of the qalandars

mujhe tujh se kuchh naheen chaahiye
I desire nothing from you

mujhe maangne ki ada nah de
Don’t let me become someone who begs

yih meri junoon ka ghuroor hai
This is the pride and vanity of my passion

mujhe bekhudi men suroor hai
My pleasure is entering a state of rapture

yih meri junoon ka ghuroor hai
This is the pride and vanity of my passion

mujhe bekhudi men suroor hai
My pleasure is entering a state of rapture

mujhe baar baar nah yaad aa
Don’t come to my mind again and again

mujhe ho sake to wafa nah de
Don’t give me fidelity if possible

mujhe baar baar sada nah de
Don’t call me to yourself again and again

meri hasraton ko hawa nah de
Don’t inflame my hopeless longings

mere dil men aatish-i ‘ishq hai
In my heart, there is the blaze of love

meri aag tujh ko jala nah de
May this fire not burn you

main gada naheen hoon faqeer hoon
I am not a beggar, I am an ascetic

main qalandaron ka ameer hoon
I am the chief of the qalandars
م
mujhe tujh se kuchh naheen chaahiye
I desire nothing from you

mujhe maangne ki ada nah de
Don’t let me be someone who begs

mera ‘ishq hai meri zindagi
My very life is love

mera ‘ishq hai meri bandagi
My very devotion is love

mujhe ‘aashiqon men shumaar kar
Consider me to be among the noble lovers

mujhe ‘aashiqi ka silah nah de
Don’t reward me for love

mujhe baar baar sada nah de
Don’t call me to yourself again and again

meri hasraton ko hawa nah de
Don’t inflame my hopeless longings

mere dil men aatish-i ‘ishq hai
In my heart, there is the blaze of love

meri aag tujh ko jala nah de
May this fire not burn you

main gada naheen hoon faqeer hoon
I am not a beggar, I am an ascetic

main qalandaron ka ameer hoon
I am the chief of the qalandars

mujhe tujh se kuchh naheen chaahiye
I desire nothing from you

mujhe maangne ki ada nah de
Don’t let me be someone who begs
م
mujhe baar baar sada nah de
Don’t call me to yourself again and again

meri hasraton ko hawa nah de
Don’t inflame my hopeless longings

mere dil men aatish-i ‘ishq hai
In my heart, there is the blaze of love

meri aag tujh ko jala nah de
May this fire not burn you

mujhe baar baar sada nah de
Don’t call me to yourself again and again

meri hasraton ko hawa nah de
Don’t inflame my hopeless longings

mere dil men aatish-i ‘ishq hai
In my heart, there is the blaze of love

meri aag tujh ko jala nah de
May this fire not burn you

baar baar sada nah de
Don’t call me to yourself again and again

baar baar sada nah de
Don’t call me to yourself again and again

baar baar
Again and again

1). Qalandaron (plural): Qalandar is a title given to a saint who is at a very high level of spirituality. They are different from other saints and they have very strong feelings of love for God’s creation.

Sung by Abbas Ali Khan, Coke Studio Season – 7

19 comments

  1. I kept listening to this.Again and again . How many times, I didn’t count.
    Words are trivial for this EXTRAORDINARY song. So DEEP, so TOUCHING !!
    Every line of it narrates intense emotions. Especially these-
    mere dil me aatish e ishq hai
    Meri aag tujh ko jala na de
    And actually, its difficult to classify. This is now among the tunes that I randomly hum!
    Akhiz, this is CLASSIC !

    Hats off to your taste in music 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Knock it out of the park... say it all !!!

