Gaze

stars - gaze

I gazed at the moonless night brightly lit by a thousand stars
Listening the silent hum of my heart worn out by inner wars

Lost in thousand thoughts spell was broken by a gust of air
Was surprised when realized my head bowed down in prayer

Thoughts were not accompanying my lips it all seemed a lie
Perplexed distraught opened my eyes to gaze back at the sky

I try God, I try taming my heart but doubt finds ways to creep
Telling it daily that He gives to His beloved even in their sleep 1

Following that path of righteousness when things go wrong
This world keeps mocking that for its tricks I am not strong

And then I saw a shooting star next moment it was no more
Realized strife’s are temporary our boats always get to shore

Remembering the times You got me out when things got rough
Forgive me God for my blessings I can never thank You enough

 

 

Context
1. Psalm 127:2

12 comments

  1. I loved the start of your poem. The peaceful feeling of watching a starry sky with silent humming of heart. Thinking deeply. Later, the optimism towards life is a thing to learn. Your words played just the right chords of a reader’s heart! !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic! Beautifully written……….so much of humbleness and grace. “He gives to His beloved even in their sleep”- such an undeniable hope. Every segment is wonderful in its own way. Love the poem to the end. Blissful and hopeful………Love it. Stay Blessed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am humbled by your compliments Zee, Thank you for your kind appreciation and words πŸ™‚ , whatever is in my heart poetry gives me a whole new universe to express it in so many different dimensions, looking forward to read some of yours too πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Thank you Zee πŸ˜€ you are too kind, well not everyone knows that i write poetry (mostly cuz im a shy and quite person) not even my family, only a very few friends know, its in the genetics i guess as my dad writes poetry and is also a member of citi’s writer’s guild, but even he doesn’t know that i write. πŸ™‚

        Btw you are soo good in writing prose and i don’t come close to it (actually i suck in writing prose), the problem is that prose requires temperament and i am always in a hurry when i sit to write it, but you are excellent in it.

        Like

    1. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Thanks for liking my writings, you yourself write beautifully Saadia, God willing one day i will publish them and will send a especially signed copy to both you and Zee πŸ™‚

      Like

Knock it out of the park... say it all !!!

